UW La Crosse wins WIAC Tournament

By TomM February 11, 2018 09:27

UW La Crosse wins WIAC Tournament

UW La Crosse wins WIAC Tournament

By Nate Woelfel @Nate_Woelfel | For Wisconsin Wrestling Online |

Four individual champions lifted the UW-La Crosse wrestling team to the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Tournament championship Friday, February 9 in Whitewater.

Hayden Schlough (141 pounds), Mitchell Hertel (165), Sawyer Massie (174) and Konrad Ernst (285) each won their weight classes as the Eagles won the team race by 25 points.

La Crosse put 10 wrestlers in the finals, including claiming both spots in the 141 and 165 pound championship bouts.

Hayden Schlough bested UWL’s Reid Johnson by major decision, 11-0, in the 141 pound title match.

Hertel edged teammate Logan Schlough 3-1 at 165.

Host UW-Whitewater placed second at the event. The Warhawks also had four individual champions. Mike Tortorice (125), Hazen Rice (133), Austin Quartullo (149) and Jordan Newman (197) each captured titles.

Newman scored a major decision over Wesley Schultz (La Crosse) in their championship match.

Just a few weeks ago, Schultz handed Newman his second loss of the season when he pinned him at the Pete Willson Wheaton Invitational.

UW-Stevens Point placed third in the team race. Ben Vosters (125) and Luke Smiley (149) led the Pointers with runner-up finishes.

Grant Wedepohl won it all for UW-Platteville at 184 pounds, topping Sean O’Neil of La Crosse 4-3 in sudden victory.

The Pioneers tied for fourth with UW-Eau Claire.

Tyler Demo (133) paced the Blugolds with a third-place finish.

Mark Choinski of UW-Oshkosh won the championship at 157 pounds. He topped La Crosse’s Grant Zamin 4-0 in the first-place tilt.

Team scores:
1. UW-La Crosse 143
2. UW-Whitewater 118
3. UW-Stevens Point 116.5
T4. UW-Eau Claire – UW-Platteville 100
6. UW-Oshkosh 89.5

Championship matches:

125: Mike Tortorice (UWW) dec. Ben Vosters (UWSP), 7-5 (SV-1)
133: Hazen Rice (UWW) dec. Josh Stenger (UWL), 11-8
141: Hayden Schlough (UWL) maj. dec. Reid Johnson (UWL), 11-0
149: Austin Quartullo (UWW) dec. Luke Smiley (UWSP), 5-1
157: Mark Choinski (UWO) dec. Grant Zamin (UWL), 4-0
165: Mitchell Hertel (UWL) dec. Logan Schlough (UWL), 3-1
174: Sawyer Massie (UWL) dec. Jon Goetz (UWP), 11-6
184: Grant Wedepohl (UWP) dec. Sean O’Neil (UWL), 4-3 (SV-1)
197: Jordan Newman (UWW) maj. dec. Wesley Schultz (UWL), 14-2
285: Konrad Ernst (UWL) p. D’Andre Johnson (UWP), 8:22

Photo Credit: UW La Crosse Wrestling

By TomM February 11, 2018 09:27