AWA 2015 Pre Season State Wrap Up

By TomM October 19, 2015 19:40

AWA 2015 Pre Season State Wrap Up

AWA Pre Season State Wrap Up

It was a great day of wrestling with many exciting matches!

106- Jon Bailey validated his 2 ranking by winning a very deep 106lb weight class.  Bailey came up big with a 2-0 semis win over Zach Licht and a 6-1 finals win over IL stand out Reece Heller.

113- This was the deepest most exciting weight in the tournament.  State Placer Tyler Roecker took home the title with a Semis win over Joey Bianchi and a Finals win over Matt Anderson.  Anderson made the finals by beating another State Placer in Arturo Duran.  State Runner Up Josh Depies would take home 3rd place after beating the man who put him into the consolations Joey Bianchi.  To see all the great matches you have to look at the bracket.

120- Brock Bergelin won a very exciting finals match against Cadet All American Holden Heller. Heller defeated WIAA State Runner-Up Aaron Schulist in the Semis, Schulist would finish 3rd place.

126- This bracket became a little thinner after injuries caused a few wrestlers to drop out at the last minute.  Paul Bianchi would be dominant all day including a pin over 8th grade stand out Aidan Medora in the finals.

132- Trent Leon would take home the title with an 11-5 win over State Runner Up Weston Wichman in the finals.  Leon had his toughest test in the Semifinals when he beat outstanding Coleman Freshman Jake Baldwin 4-3.

138- Illinois came away with their first champion here when IL State Runner Up Trey Hild beat Josh Hickey in the finals 4-2.  State Place winner Andrew McIntosh would finish in third place after dropping a close 4-2 decision to Josh Hickey in the Semis.

145- Aidan Yde would turn in one of the most impressive performances of the day of anyone at the tournament.  After being tight all match with State Champion Jaden Winchel, Yde scored a takedown to the back and secured a fall.  Yde would score 2 other falls and win in the finals 12-0.  Winchel would come back for third place.

152- State Champion Wilder Wichman took home the title with a finals win over Kelvin Yde. Wichman did have a scare in the quarters where he secured a buzzer beating win over Brady Jamrozek to move on 3-1.  Yde had an 8-6 Semifinals win over Brandon Laughlin, who finished 4th after dropping the 3rd place match to Jamrozek.

160- The match up between Jose Acosta and Eddie Smith never materialized as Smith was forced to pull out of the tournament with a minor injury.  Acosta cruised to a title winning in the finals over Tyler Denmark 7-0.

170- This was a second title for Illinois at Sage Heller cruised to a title with a 7-1 win over Helton Vandenbush in the semis and a 17-2 TF over Michael Burgerino in the finals.

182- One of the smaller brackets of the day ended up being a Round Robin.  Patrick Engen took home the title with Sal Schiro finishing 2nd.

195- Another Round Robin here and Jacob Raschka takes home the title.  His closest match was first round against State Runner Up August Peplinski 3-0, he recorded falls in his other matches.

220- State Runner Up Brady Koller took home the title here with 2 wins over Jaylen Kroupa.

285- Brendan Lillo took home a title here for the 2nd straight year defeating Keaton Kluever in the finals 7-2.

All the matches from the event are available on TrackCast.

By TomM October 19, 2015 19:40
Write a comment

No Comments

No Comments Yet!

Let me tell You a sad story ! There are no comments yet, but You can be first one to comment this article.

Write a comment

Only <a href=""> registered </a> users can comment.


Sidebar Free Ad Space: 125px x 125px

Advertise Now