2017 Wisconsin Wrestling Coaches Association Awards

By TomM September 9, 2017 08:27

2017 Wisconsin Wrestling Coaches Association Awards

2017 Wisconsin Wrestling Coaches Association Awards

Awards (below) will be presented during the WWCA Fall Clinic or the George Martin Hall of Fame Banquet. Recipients are asked to be in attendance to receive their awards in person.

The Wisconsin Wrestling Coaches Association annual Clinic and George Martin Hall of Fame Induction Banquet will be held Friday-Saturday, November 2-3, 2017 in Green Bay at the Hyatt Regency (formerly Hyatt on Main) and KI Convention Center.
Registration information will be available soon at Wisconsin Wrestling Coaches Association.

Many awards will be presented at the Clinic or Banquet. The awards and honorees are listed below.
If you see omissions or items needing spelling changes please notify Tim Potratz
by phone or email at: < tpotratz@wfsd.k12.wi.us > Phone: 920-867-8891

Do you or someone you know qualify for one of these milestone awards?
If so, please alert Tim Potratz at:
< tpotratz@wfsd.k12.wi.us > Phone: 920-867-8891
Deadline for all additions/changes is September 25, 2017

Career Wins and/or Years of Coaching
100, 200, 300, 400  or 500 etc Career Wins
20, 30 or 40 Years of Coaching etc.

2017 WWCA Awards

2017 State Coach of the Year Joe Schwabe Stratford
2017 State Assistant Coach of the Year Brian Jandrin and Travis Spude Luxemburg-Casco
2017 Wrestler of the Year 
Devin Bahr West Salem/Bangor

2017 State Team Champion Coaches
D1        Kaukauna                                                       Jeff Matczak
D2        Ellsworth                                                        Mark Matzek/Adam Sheley
D3        Stratford                                                        Joe Schwabe

2017 State Individual Tournament Champions
D1        Stoughton                                                      Dan Spilde/Bob Empey
D2        Luxemburg-Casco                                          Chas Treml
D3        Stratford                                                        Joe Schwabe

2017 District Coach of the Year
District 1 / Scott Marko / Amery
District 2 / Joe Schwabe / Stratford
District 3 / Pete Petersen / Ernie Brodsky Melrose Mindoro-GET
District 4 / Jeff Matczak / Kaukauna
District 5 / Bob Empey-Dan Spilde / Stoughton
District 6 / Chris Graziano / Slinger
District 7 / Jim McMahon / Menomonee Falls
District 8 / Tim Fader / UWEC

Caree Win Milestones

100 Career Wins
Jason Lulloff               Holmen

200 Career Wins
Chris Hansen               Hudson
Jerry Kupper               Racine Horlick
Jim McMahon             Menomonee Falls

300 Career Wins

400 Career Wins
Jeff Matczak               Kaukauna

Years Coaching Milestones

20 Years of Coaching
Robert Berens / Racine Horlick
Chris Persike / Lodi
Pat Ratkovich / Wausau East
Leonard Velasquez / Racine Horlick
Jim McMahon / Menomonee Falls

30 Years of Coaching
Shawn Achterburg / Wrightstown
Scott Kluever / Kaukauna
Jerry Kupper / Racine Horlick
Matt Verbeten / Wrightstown
Chris Graziano / Slinger

40 Years of Coaching
Bill Verbeten / Wrightstown
Dave Meyer / Lomira

2017 Conference Champions / Conference Champion Coaches
Badger North/ Sauk Prairie Scott Smith
Badger North/ Waunakee Mark Natzke
Badger South/ Stoughton Dan Spilde/Bob Empey
Bay Green Bay United/ Kenneth Arbour/Josh Murnane
Big East/ Random Lake John Hatfield
Big Eight/ Tournament Sun Prairie Jim Nelson
Big Eight Duals/ Sun Prairie Jim Nelson
Big Rivers/ Hudson Chris Hansen
Capital – North/ Lodi Chris Persike
Capital – South/ Sugar River Peter Swenson
Central Wisconsin/ Shiocton Eric Clausen
Central Wisconsin/ Weyauwega-Fremont Tim Potratz
Classic Eight – Tournament/ Mukwonago Jon Wierzbicki
Cloverbelt/ Neillsville-Greenwood-Loyal Scott Bryant
Coulee/ Viroqua Eric Anderson
Dairyland/ Blair-Taylor Ned Laughery
Dunn-St.Croix/ Spring Valley/Elmwood Carter Turner
East Central/ Campbellsport Mark Peterson
Eastern Wisconsin/ Two Rivers Paul Gehrke
Fox River Classic/ Pulaski Ryan Deprey
Fox Valley/ Kaukauna Jeff Matczek
Greater Metro – Tournament/ Menomonee Falls Jim McMahon
Greater Metro – Duals/ Menomonee Falls Jim McMahon
Great Northern/ Medford Brandon Marcis
Heart O’North/ Barron Darryl Stephens
Lakeland – Tournament/ Clear Lake Darren Anderson
Lakeland – Duals East/ Cornell/Gilman Greg Sonnentag
West – Clear Lake Darren Anderson
Marawood/ Stratford Joe Schwabe
Marinette & Oconto/ Coleman Kevin Casper
Metro Classic/ Kenosha Christian Life Tim Pinter/Lino Martinez
Middle Border/ Ellsworth Mark Matzek/Adam Shelley
Midwest Classic/ Kenosha Christian Life Tim Pinter
Milwaukee City – Tournament/ Milwaukee Bradley Tech Shane Kennelly
Milwaukee City – Duals/ Milwaukee Bradley Tech Shane Kennelly
Mississippi Valley/ Holmen Jason Lulloff
North Eastern/ Luxemburg-Casco Chas Treml
North Shore/ Port Washington Angelo LaRosa
Northern Lakes/ Crandon Jeff Lehman
Packerland/ Southern Door Jerry Englebert
Ridge & Valley – Duals/ Ithaca-Weston Troy Clary/Dennis McCauley
Rock Valley – North/ Evansville-Albany Rob Kostroun
Rock Valley – South/ Beloit Turner Matt Bright/Matt Ries
Scenic Bluffs – Duals/ Brookwood Chad Ottum
Scenic Ridge & Rivers/ Brookwood Chad Ottum
South Central/ Wautoma/Wild Rose Ian Zertler
Southeast – Tournament/ Oak Creek Matt Sommerville
Southeast – Duals/ Oak Creek Matt Sommerville
Southern lakes – Tournament/ Elkhorn Ken Reynolds
Southern Lakes – Duals/ Elkhorn Ken Reynolds
Southwest Wisconsin – Duals/ Lancaster Brad Sturmer
River Valley/ Pat Mahoney/Curtis Fiedler
SWAL/ Fennimore Chad Steldt
Trailways/ Johnson Creek Matt Dressel
Wisconsin Flyway/ Lomira Dave Meyer
Wisconsin Little Ten/ Slinger Chris Graziano
Wisconsin Little Ten – Duals/ Slinger Chris Graziano
Wisconsin Valley/ Marshfield Jackson Hein
Woodland – Tournament/ Pewaukee Ed Kurth
Woodland – Duals/ Pewaukee Ed Kurth
WIAC (NCAA)/ UW La Crosse Dave Malecek

By TomM September 9, 2017 08:27